Billing, plans, & payments

Answer common questions about billing, available plans, payments, and usage.

Free trial

How does the 14-day free trial work?

Trials start on our top Team Plan, giving you unrestricted access to all Bugsnag features free for 14 days. At the end of your trial, you’ll need to select to a plan to continue using Bugsnag.

What happens if I upgrade during my free trial?

You can select a plan at any time during your 14-day free trial. We won’t charge you until the end of your trial.

Usage & rate limits

What is an error report?

An error report is either an unhandled exception (often called a crash) that has been detected by Bugsnag, or any handled exceptions that you choose to report.

Who counts as a collaborator?

A collaborator is the name we use for anyone who logs into Bugsnag. Each software engineer, admin or manager needs their own login credentials.

What happens if I go over my error report quota?

If you exceed your error report quota more than 3 times in any 30-day rolling period, we’ll automatically upgrade you to the next plan to ensure coverage.

If you disable automatic upgrades, we’ll intelligently rate limit your error reports to stay within your quota.

What about temporary spikes in error rate?

Outages and spikes in error rates happen to from time to time, so when automatic plan upgrades are enabled you’ll have 3 forgiveness days in any 30-day rolling period where you can exceed your daily quota.

How does intelligent rate limiting work?

If you are on our Free Plan or have disabled automatic plan upgrades, we will apply an rate limit to your error reports as you approach your quota to ensure we capture your error reports throughout the entire day.

When rate limiting, we’ll prioritize processing errors we haven’t seen before and unhandled exceptions over handled exceptions. We’ll always let you know when your data is being rate limited.

Upgrading or downgrading your plan

How do automatic plan upgrades work?

Automatic plan upgrades ensure you capture every error report and gain a complete picture of your application’s health.

For the first 3 days you exceed your quota in any 30-day rolling period, we’ll continue accepting error reports and send you an email letting you know that you’ve exceeded your quota. We call these “forgiveness days”.

If you exceed your error report quota more than 3 times in any 30-day rolling period, we’ll automatically upgrade you to the next plan to ensure coverage.

You can disable automatic upgrades at any time from your Bugsnag Settings.

Payment and cancellation

What forms of payment do you accept?

We accept all major credit and debit cards: Visa, Mastercard, American Express, JCB, Discover and Diners Club. Payments are powered by Stripe.

Do I have to sign a long-term contract?

No. You have the option of being billed monthly on Team plans, and you can cancel anytime. Alternatively, you can pay yearly and receive a discount.

Can I cancel any time?

Yes. After you cancel your subscription you’ll be moved to our limited Free Plan and you won’t be charged again unless you choose to upgrade to a paid plan in the future.

Can I pay yearly?

Yes. When you pay for Bugsnag annually, you’ll receive one month free. This option is available when you select a plan in your Bugsnag Settings.

Invoices and receipts

Where can I find my Bugsnag invoices?

Invoices are always available to view and download in PDF format from your settings dashboard.

Go to Settings > Plans and billing > Invoices.

The billing contacts for your organization will also receive a copy of every invoice, attached in PDF format.